Anyone Can Cook

And I truly believe that. Why? Well, because I can. As you get to know me it doesn’t take long for my love of cooking to become very apparent, but I didn’t always love it. In fact, if it wasn’t for a biscuit recipe that might not have ever changed.

Growing up, due to different food allergies in my family, we had to do a lot of the made-from-scratch cooking (and I mean a lot.) Obviously, when you are making almost (if not every) meal from scratch that is going to take a lot of time, so our mother had us help with the cooking. Eventually we took over cooking full meals as we got older and more experienced. My oldest sister had no problem with this. Plunk that girl in front of a recipe and you knew everything was going to be okay…and edible. I, however, did not have that gift. I read and re-read the recipes, but they never turned out right. I’m pretty sure my family cried a little on the inside when they knew it was my time to cook, I know I did. I’m not kidding, I was TERRIBLE! I once added vanilla instead of vinegar into meatballs. I don’t think that was quite what my mom meant when she asked for sweet and sour meatballs… I also tried three separate times to make the world easiest coffee cake (my mom even watched after the meatball incident to make sure I didn’t swap ingredients) Three times I tried and three times I failed. To this day we still have no idea how. Meal after meal I messed up, and with every mess up I hated cooking all the more. It wasn’t fun for me, and I swore as soon as I moved out I was buying all my food pre-made. But then my mom made me bake some biscuits and all that changed.

IMG_1721

To be fair here, a lot of credit goes to my mom for making me bake those biscuits. Seriously, biscuits are one of her top five favorite foods. Why on earth she trusted me, the bane of every meals existence, with her prized biscuits I do not know. If I had to guess I’d say probably because she wanted my sister to make the entrée so we would be guaranteed to have dinner. Whatever the reason she handed the recipe over to me with the all too familiar “Make sure you read the recipe correctly!” Off I went, I must have re-read the instruction fifty different times before mixing it up and throwing it into the oven. Dinner came and there was my biscuits awaiting the verdict, and the most amazing thing happened. They loved them! The biscuits tasted good! My mom even labeled me the biscuit maker from there on in. Being told I made the best biscuits ever felt good, and I could begin to understand why people actually liked cooking. Granted, it took a while before I got to the point I am now, and I still make mistakes, but it didn’t take long for me to enjoy making other people happy with my cooking. As I got older and was allowed to experiment with my own recipes and try different cuisines from around the world my love for cooking exploded.

So please, even if you feel like you can’t or you don’t feel like you are very good at it, if cooking is something you want to do the don’t give up! Take it from me, you don’t need to be perfect to enjoy cooking 🙂


Baking Powder Bisquits

  • 3 cups flour
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cups butter
  • 1 cup milk ( +2 Tablespoons if needed)

IMG_1707

Mix flour, baking powder and salt together in a large bowl. Add in the butter and using a pastry blender cut the butter into the dry ingredients until it resembles coarse crumbs.

Starting with 1 cup of milk add and stir until the dough forms. You want it to come together without being too sticky (you may not need to add the other two tablespoons of milk)

Sprinkle your work surface with flour and flatten dough into a rough circle 1/4 to 1/2 inch thick. Using a biscuit cutter, cut and place onto a baking sheet. (Or if like me you don’t have a biscuit cutter, you can use the top rim of a glass to cut out the dough.

IMG_1713

bake at 400 degrees for 12 min or until the tops just barely start to turn golden brown. Makes 12 large biscuits.

These are amazing fresh out of the oven with a little dollop of jam and a cuppa tea!

I hope you try these out! Comment below if you do, and feel free to share any embarrassing cooking stories you might have. 🙂

~

Mommy’s little helper

IMG_1719

2 thoughts on “Anyone Can Cook

  1. What a great post! I laughed until I cried! I think those vanilla meatballs are the ONLY thing you girls tried to make that I actually could not swallow and had to just spit out. And look at you now. Love you, so proud of you, and now I think I must go make biscuits to have with dinner. ~Mummy

    Like

Leave a Reply

