Its more cake!

And a rather short post today I am afraid. We have a lot going on which I can’t talk about yet because we aren’t sure whats happening so its kind of a blog and dash post. I do hope you will forgive me.

Now, onwards to cake!

Last month the Hubster had his birthday, and as I have stated before I am fairly familiar with cakes. Here is the thing though, Hubster isn’t really a cake fan. Neither one of us is necessarily a big sweet person, but he doesn’t even like the more savory cakes.

Normally I would just make him a pie or a giant cookie, but we were having a picnic at the park and cake is much easier to serve in that setting so he requested I make a cake. I knew this cake was going to have to be pretty special both in flavor and decoration while still being easy enough to make while 6 month pregnant.

Decoration plans were easy enough. He has always been a huge nautical person. Boats, beaches, lighthouses, you name it. He even wanted to get an octopus tattoo at one point. So I asked him to print off a reference photo for me to use while free handing my piping later on. By the way, do you have any idea how hard it is to have the person you are trying to surprise print off the very thing you are planning on surprising them with? We don’t have a printer here and I needed a copy so I tried telling him it was for my sister. He bought it until the day of the party. So close.

Decorations were now planned but what to do about flavor? He loves lemon things but last lemon cake he said was too sweet. I decided in order to combat the sweetness I was going to add alcohol (Either baking genius or desperation, you be the judge.) Just like that Mike’s Hard Lemonade Cake was born. We got an awesome filling made with 4 different local berries to put in-between the layers. Even Mr-not-a-cake-fan liked it! Hooray!

Are you ready for the recipe?


Mike’s Hard Lemonade cake

  • 1 box Duncan Hines white cake mix
  • 1/4 c oil
  • 3 large egg whites
  • 1 Mike’s Hard Lemonade (I got the regular flavor but the different flavors would make some awesome cakes)

 

Prepare cake mix as per instructions on back of box. Mixing the mix, eggs, oil, only substitute the Mike’s in place of the 1 cup water. Then just bake according to the instructions on back.


 

That is it, really! Super simple and tasted great. The cake mix saved a lot of time too. Also I would highly suggest keeping with the Duncan Hines. I am sure it would work with other brands but I have not personally tried it. Also Duncan Hines comes out a better tasting more consistent cake from my experiences. 🙂

All I did was slap some of my mom’s secret buttercreme frosting on top, free handed an octopus attacking a ship over that (reference photo really helped there)

IMG_3604

 

IMG_3605

I’d also like to point out after all that  piping you will feel like you have the grip strength of Hercules

All in all, Hubster loved his cake, everyone gobbled it up (and this preggo lady really didn’t need extra cake laying around the house so yay for that!)

Success!

 

IMG_3609
baby bird says, “ahhhhh!”
One thought on “Its more cake!

Leave a Reply

